The Government Polytechnic, Proddatur was started in the year 1959 with three Engineering branches namely Civil, Mechanical, Electrical & Electronics Engineering with an initial intake of 40 in each branch. Later in the 1985, 4th branch namely Electronics & Communication Engineering with an intake of 50 and in the year 2006 a fifth branch namely diploma in Computer Engineering with an intake of 40 are added. Our polytechnic is one of the ten polytechnics selected for starting 2nd section in the institutes with 4 branches namely Mechanical, ECE, EEE, Sandwich branches from the 2008-2009.